Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2000-12-21 ... 17:47:48

I am just hours away from not being at work anymore. 11 days off, including weekends. I counted. In fact, I made up a little song about it: 11 days off doo doo doo, 11 days off (in a row!), 11 days off...

But then again, I have a tendency to make up a little song about just about everything.

I'm feeling kind of keyed up and manic. Last night I had kind of a small meltdown while wrapping presents (which I cannot do anyway, they always look like they were wrapped by Cookie Monster...fumbling all over the place with his thick blue fingers). I bought some crap-ass Osco tape because it was cheap (30 cents!). Well, you get what you pay for. This tape will not tear, and then it sticks to itself, and my hair's hanging in my face and I've got my elbow on the package to try and hold the wrapped sides together while I get a piece of tape, and I never did get the hang of that envelope thing you do on the sides or even learn how to fucking guesstimate the amount of wrapping paper needed. I found myself actually yelling at the tape dispenser. Ridiculous.

And I like to think of myself as a fairly relaxed person. But I don't like doing things that I'm not good at, and I am so not good at wrapping packages. I don't know if it's because I'm left-handed (sure, blame the genes) or what, but I often have trouble with hand-eye coordination things like cutting a straight line or threading a needle.

Our cases of champagne for the New Year's party arrived today. One can never have too much champagne. One thing I loved about Paris is that it is perfectly normal to order a glass of champagne in a bar. Any bar. You'd get some pretty funny looks trying to do that in Chicago. I mean, Miller High Life claims it's "the Champagne of Beers" but it's just not the same.

---mimi smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com