Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


1999-09-30 ... 12:24:10

Work sucked today. All the networks were acting up and being really slow. So all the hundred pressing things I had to do couldn't exactly get done. Blah blah blah.

Yesterday I went home and was all restless for some reason, hopping around the house with Beastie Boys "Hello Nasty" on the stereo. I completely rearranged the linen closet next to the bathroom, and made space for our extra bedsheets to fit there.

Not very exciting, I know. But order and tidiness makes me happy.

I called LT on his cell phone and we decided to go out to dinner. I was in the mood for bad-for-you food. And I was in the mood for beer, which I think I mentioned in yesterday's entry. So we went to this "pub" on Clark Street, which on Wednesdays has all-you-can-eat fish and chips night. Mmmmm, fried. And that good malt vinegar.

This place does an okay job of simulating a pub in that: it has a lot of crap (old iron farming implements and the like) on the walls and you are subjected to very bad music while you are there. They also have English beer on tap, including everyone's non-favorite, Tenent's lager. However, it is not like a pub in that: they have wood floors instead of grotty carpeting, no one was actually passed out at 7 pm, there was no video poker or other gambling machines, and the peas that come with the fish and chips were fresh, and not a green mushy mess.

Fish and chips was good, though. Screw the peas.

It kind of made me nostalgic for all those crazy London evenings, and just in time, since LT and I are in the middle of planning another trip there. He needs to use the National Archives to finish some dissertation chapters, I just want to hang out. We're going to spend the first weekend (thanksgiving weekend, as it turns out) in Paris with some of our friends that just moved there. Turns out it's cheaper to fly to Paris from London, though, so no Chunnel for me. I'm kind of disappointed, as I was looking forward to thinking, "eek, I'm under the OCEAN!" for 3 hours. Ah well.

---mimi smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com