Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2001-05-22 ... 7:32 a.m.

Believe me when I say that I am not the sort of person who normally goes gaga over cuteness. However...

OH SO CUTE!

Although I wouldn't want to volunteer to help dress them. I'm sure the little darlings would squirm quite a bit.

So what did I do this weekend? I went downstate (of course, to me anything past 95th is "downstate") to watch my sister graduate college. (Or should it be graduate "from" college? I'll have to look that one up.) Although the so-called featured speaker apparently just emptied the cliche bag onto a pad of paper and went with that, the ceremony was fairly tolerable. The names were all read in a sort of measured monotone, and LT and I amused ourselves by reading alternative names in the same monotone. "I...P...Freely." "Jim...Shoe." "Ivana...Tinkle." "Pierce...Knutsac." You get the idea.

Afterwards we moved lots of boxes (ever so many boxes) to get my sister moved out of her apartment, and then it was back on the Road of Nothingness. Driving through the Midwest is so mind-numbing that one looks forward to roadkill. Luckily I passed out from all the exertion (a delicate flower, I am) and slept for the majority of the drive.

Sunday night was the David Byrne concert, and it was unbelievable. The glow has faded somewhat, but still there. At least I'm better off than yesterday, when all the songs were still stuck in my head and I was doodling "Mrs David Byrne" on my notebook during meetings. (Okay, I exaggerate, but not much.) His music and lyrics, more than any other perfomer, make me remember how terribly interesting it is to be alive. And that's something that could use remembering.

I have a huge project that I've done very little work on, and since I'm here at this ridiculous hour specifically to work on it, I think I will.

---mimi "penguin sweater" smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com