Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2006-04-10 ... 8:53 p.m.

A whole safari set's worth of plastic animals, a Spiderman action figure, multiple Lego structures, and various other bits of flotsam are strewn all over my living room floor. Nora hands me Spidey and says, "You be Spiderman." Okay. I will be Spiderman.

"This is the giraffe's house," says Nora, referring to her Lego creation. "Spiderman knocks on the door."

I make Spiderman knock on the door. Nora has the giraffe ask what he wants. I can't imagine what Spiderman would want at the giraffe's house, so I have Spiderman ask, "Uh, can I use the potty?"

Nora, As Giraffe: No. We don't have a potty here.
Me, As Spiderman: Oh. Well, where's the nearest potty?
Giraffe: There are no potties in the whole town!
Spiderman: Sucks to be me! What am I going to do?
Giraffe: Why don't you go behind a tree and pee-pee in the grass?
Spiderman: Okay, I guess. [Spiderman goes around the corner of the sofa. Appropriate noises are made.]
Giraffe: I have an idea. Maybe we could build a potty. Out of Legos. Will you help us?
Spiderman: I would be honored!

[They build. Nora grabs an Incredible Hulk action figure and has him join the scene. Her deep Hulk voice is just about the best thing I have ever heard.]

Hulk: Hi, I'm the Hulk. There used to be a toothbrush in me.
Spiderman: Hi, Hulk! Want to try the potty we just built?
Hulk: No. I don't have to go.

[Nora switches back to using the giraffe.]

Giraffe: Actually, you know what? We're animals. We don't need a potty. Let's take this potty apart.
Spiderman: But I'm not an animal.
Giraffe: You don't live here.
Spiderman: Okay.
Giraffe: You can pee-pee in the grass. Remember that? Remember when you pee-peed in the grass? Just do that, Spiderman.

---mimi smartypants spins a web, eats her young.

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com