Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2000-03-31 ... 14:37:16

Symphony yesterday was cool. We sat in the "terrace" seats, which are very wack in that you are behind the orchestra and get to look at the conductor's crazy grimacing face the whole time. Guest conductor was this guy Esenbach, who was very expressive and fun to watch, especially during the Beethoven (the 3rd). He was bald and wearing a Nehru jacket, though (seriously), and when we were flipping through the program pre-concert LT came upon his picture and said, shocked, "It's a skinny version of Dr Evil!"

I liked the concert, although I thought the horns were too loud. We were sitting right on top of them, though. And I always think the horns are too loud, because I don't like the sound they make, so maybe I'm not the best judge of that.

Leaving the house at 7 am and not getting home until 11:30, however, no matter how much culture you soak up in between, makes for an exhausting day. Went immmediately to bed, much to The Cat's chagrin.

[insert segue here]. LT is getting a little depressed about his job prospects. No universities are hiring in his field, especially not tenure-track positions. Looks like they all would rather have overworked, underpaid, crappy part-time profs. He's still plugging away at his 2 jobs (teaching and consulting), but the future is very uncertain. And there's nothing mimi smartypants likes less than an uncertain future.

I mean, we want to buy a house, and maybe have a kid, and all that sort of crud, and now I'm the breadwinner, which is fine, which is great, but I was hoping for a little bit of a tradeoff in the future. I'd like to explore freelancing (editing from home and such), I'd like to maybe go back to school, I'd like to have deciding to work full-time be an option and not a necessity should I decide to spawn. That means someone else would have to have the nice steady income.

Arrgggh. I don't want to think about this. It's Friday, for pete's sake. (Who's Pete?) Beer and sushi tonight!

---mimi smartypants, who worries too much

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com