Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2000-01-19 ... 14:20:37

I am having a shit day at work. In particular, I am totally fed up with people for whom Nothing Is Their Fault. A few weeks ago, via e-mail, I ask a certain (in-house, by the way) person to handle something. It is not handled. Now we are in a panic at the last minute trying to handle it. Error gets traced back to Certain Person. He says, "Oh, I get so many e-mails, it's impossible to know what's important and what isn't. Next time give me a voice mail message."

Now wait a minute. Part of doing a job, in fact part of LIVING, is sorting out what's important and what isn't. If you had no such discerning capabilities, you would watch TV continually and never remember to eat or go to the bathroom. You would spend hours looking for the perfect air freshener for your car and never get the oil changed. You would send flowers to the mail carrier for a job well done but not to your spouse on your anniversary. And so on. Plus, I can just see the slippery slope here...next it's too difficult for him to sort out the voice mail, and we have to tell him in person. Or send a telegram. Or engrave some invitations.

Rant, rant, rant. But I totally can't stand people not taking responsibility for fucking up. You fuck up, you fuck up. Just say so, for crying out loud. The world will not end.

Enough of stuff I hate. Here's something I like. Snow. It's snowing again here. Also, I love it when people say, "You know what your problem is?" I LOVE THAT! I always go, "No, what? Please tell me, I can't wait!!!" Unfortunately what they think your problem is is never quite what your problem is. I also love the phrase, "Do I have to draw you a picture?" I wish someone would say that to me!! I would say, "Oh, yes, please!" Pencil and paper shyly offered.

---mimi smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com