Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2001-09-14 ... 2:50 p.m.

Words fail me. Words don't usually fail me. Words are my last resort, the one thing I can do when it seems like I can't do anything. But not this time.

I won't rehash the details of the horror of 9/11/01. You've seen it on television. You've read about it. (There are amazingly wonderful personal accounts here, here, and here. Words didn't fail these people.) If you're anything like me, you can't get it out of your mind. I can't remember any other news event that's stayed with me around the clock the way the terrorist attacks in NYC, Washington, and Pittsburgh have. I think about it on some level all day, every day. And I don't see that ending any time soon.

I don't know what's normal anymore. I don't know what to say. You can't talk about this without talking about the media. CNN, BBC, CBS, NBC, ABC, NPR. I watched the major networks for about 4 hours straight on Tuesday, until all those talking hairpieces made me physically ill. The New York Times has had good coverage. NPR makes me cry on a regular basis. Something about their minimalist, semi-dispassionate reportage wrings my heart out like a dishcloth.

Speaking of physically ill. If all that destruction and loss of life wasn't bad enough, we have to listen to some people's ignorant, racist comments. "Bomb them all" and "Arabs have no respect for human life" are two gems I've overheard so far. And Christians who bomb abortion clinics, I suppose they have a lot of respect for human life? The Chicago Tribune interviewed the owner of a small Arab grocery store on my street. He didn't want to let his wife go out of the house because she wears hijab. "I'm afraid for her," he said. And that made me cry all over again.

I understand anger. But don't let it turn into hate. Hate is what got us here.

My brain needs a hug.

---mimi smartypants

ps: a good article.

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com