Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2001-06-14 ... 10:38 a.m.

So last night I had some beers with Glossosaurus, who I realize does not really want to be referred to as "Glossosaurus" but I just love typing that pseudo-word, and as I've said many, many times before, I make the rules here. I like to think of our meeting as "historic," or a "summit" of some kind: however, it was really just a get-together since (a) no one cares and (b) there was no motorcade, no bunting, and no photos of us shaking hands a la Nixon and Elvis. (But who would be Nixon and who would be Elvis?)

I digress, as usual. Although I led him on the Bucktown Death March in the 90-degree heat after we realized our bar of choice was not open, he was a very good sport about the whole thing. (What kind of bar is not open at 4:30? One that did not get my business last night, that's what kind.) Eventually, thanks to his wireless device and me being the Alcoholic Mapquest (I know where the bars are), we did end up at an open, if somewhat erratically decorated, bar. I was not being picky at that point.

I also realized after leaving, that although we enjoyed our beers and talked of many things (as the Walrus said), I never really got around to mentioning my "real" name. It wasn't intentional, it just never came up. I am Mysterious Mimi!

Hey kids! Do you ever have trouble distinguishing between a thing and another thing? Well, you've come to the right place. Here's a few handy tips for use in very specific instances.

One is "jealous" of something one has and doesn't want to lose. Hence, the jealous boyfriend. One is "envious" of something one does not have but wants. This distinction has faded from American speech, but I like it and want it to stay.

Sea lions have visible ears. (They are like tiny flaps, but they are there.) Seals do not.

There, you learn something new every day. And if neither of those facts was new to you, then you get to feel wicked smart and smugly superior. Everyone wins.

Yurt Association. I love the fact that it's based in Princeton, New Jersey.

---mimi "yurt-tested, yurt-approved" smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com