Back to Diaryland

the latest waddle:

good morning, wordpress - 10:36 a.m. , 2009-07-03

elaborate murder attempt - 2:56 p.m. , 2009-07-01

building a tractor in the basement - 10:42 a.m. , 2009-06-19

ask no questions tell just a few lies - 3:17 p.m. , 2009-06-09

my long lasting flavor really lasts long - 1:10 p.m. , 2009-06-04


2001-05-29 ... 12:47 p.m.

Lift your hands in the air and wave them like you just don't care, in honor of 3-day weekends. I took several naps but also was able to cross quite a few things off the to-do list. LT and I rearranged an entire roomful of furniture (and the room makes SO MUCH more sense now: what the heck were we thinking when we set up that room in the first place? We were thinking, Get all this shit in here before we collapse, that's what we were thinking), cleaned out our basement storage room and threw all kinds of stuff away, bought SHELVES for the storage room and installed them, bought a 4-drawer file cabinet for the study and filed like nobody's business, and picked up the living room chair that I had ordered so long ago I had sort of forgotten about it. (It takes 4 weeks to ship a chair from New Jersey? Apparently it does.) So hooray for us.

We also attended my sister's graduation open house thing, where I ate 6 pieces of 7-layer jello. So that would be 42 layers. Jello is so disgusting (well, not disgusting exactly, but it's definitely Not Food), but it's kind of weirdly compelling at the same time, and I barely ever get to eat it because who makes jello? So I ate 6 pieces (over the course of several hours, mind you). I won't ever be able to cut my nails again.

One other weird thing about my sister's graduation was seeing all sorts of random relatives and family friends that I haven't seen in ages. One random aunt, as she was leaving, made the comment, "It's nice to see you again...you always seem so happy!"

That's news to me. Sometimes I AM happy, but do I SEEM happy? I doubt it. I think I usually seem cranky, or distant, or distracted, or above it all. (Although you, my diaryland friends, know that I am by no means above it all. Look at me. I'm the biggest dork around.) One of my main problems in the area of Relating to People is that I never know what to do with my face. Don't laugh. I've had so many people tell me that I am looking angry or sad or what have you when really I'm just sitting here reading or thinking, and not being angry or sad in the least. I have one of those unreadable faces, I guess. Maybe I should start wearing a mask. Suggestions? Nixon is overdone, how about just a happy smiling frog?

Since I know how much you love reading about the strange grocery store signs in my neighborhood (and if you don't, well, it's too late to start complaining about it now), I thought I'd share this one: A brand of macaroni and cheese called "Upscale." Upscale macaroni and cheese. To which I say, good luck with that.

---mimi "Queen of Gelatin" smartypants

back/forward

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com